Revisiting the Project Plan

GameDevelopment

According to the projected plan, I should have completed an advanced test level and finished programming the first character.  I do have the advanced test level, but the cat can’t scratch yet.

Overall I’m not as far behind as I thought I would be, although I just realized the semester ends in April and this plan goes into May.  However, trying to get all of this done in four months is overly ambitious, and might be acceptable if I either already knew what I was doing or had no other classes.

Unity’s probably the best game engine around, but it can be hard to find tutorials because the program keeps updating and most of the tutorials I’m finding are for Unity 4.  They usually work and Unity 5 is good at updating Unity 4 code, but there’s little interface changes, such as with the animator moving the animation’s exit time to a checkbox.  Another headache is with Unity is the asset store making people lazy.  As an example, I want to know how to program dialogue between two characters, but so many video tutorials walk you through an add-on, such as Dialoguer, XML Importer with Articy:Draft, or the open source Fungus tool.

Towards the end of March my dad is going to New Mexico for a couple of weeks and I’ll have the house to myself.  That’ll be a golden opportunity to grind out work on this and other assignments.  Hopefully I don’t get a cold like the one I have as of writing this.

Leave a comment